Recipe: Raspberry and Lychee Chiffon Cake

Hello lovely people!! I’m back with another baking post that I recently made during the Christmas holidays and in my case made something a little more special than my other baking recipes that I’ve done in the past.

I somehow stumbled across this recipe when I was just casually scrolling through the web (like we all do on some occasions) and from the name of the recipe to the pictures of the cake, I fell in love AND I had to make it! Especially how raspberry and lychee were some really nice flavours and so I decided to take up on the task and make this really pretty cake! Hehe

Here is the link to the recipe that I used:Β Raspberry and Lychee Chiffon Cake Recipe

img_8806-2
This is the final product of the cake!

The cake it self was made the day before and decorating the cake took majority of the morning… SO it CAN be done in a day but I started the cake a little later in the afternoon so I couldn’t make the other things and decorate the cake in time.

img_8809-2

The chiffon cake was actually different from a recipeΒ my mum used but we just went along with this recipe instead and we were glad we did! I could see why though, the cake was more dense, still fluffy but a little more firm so it could hold and be slightly hollowed out for the lychee mousse. My mum’s recipe for a chiffon cake is more fluffier and light so it probably would’t be able to hold the mousse.

With my mum’s help (of course πŸ™‚ ) we made the lychee mousse and the other decorations for the cake. I admit it was a little time consuming making the individual elements but at the end it was all worth it.

My mum helped me with hallowing out the cake and added the lychee mousse so it could set inside the cake. We made the cream outside with a little bit of raspberry powder but it didn’t really make a difference to the overall taste. I used edible flowers which really made the cake vibrant with all its wonderful colours as well as using some strawberry leaves from my mum’s garden.

I used lychees from the can for the mousse as well as for the decorations because fresh ones were not available. Originally fresh raspberries were used for decorations but the ones in the shops were not good and were SOOOOO expensive $$$ so I opted for fresh strawberries that were in season and were so gorgeous that they worked just as well as using raspberries.

After decorating, I put it in the fridge to let it set and after an hour or so it was time for those pictures and demolishing time!!! And there you have it, this is the final product from all that work πŸ™‚

After trying the final result I would have liked some of the flavours to be more prominent but it was my first time making this and I didn’t really have enough time to perfect it. Plus it was just a test try.

img_8802-2

Hope you guys liked this post and hopefully try this recipe (it’s actually not that hard)!!!!

See ya in the next post~~

Sophie!!Β β™₯

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Raspberry and Lychee Chiffon Cake

Leave a Reply

